It’s nearly impossible to navigate the state of Texas without a car. However, if you violate driving rules you could lose that privilege altogether. The Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) reserves the right to suspend or revoke your license if you have a traffic conviction.
Handling a suspended or revoked driver’s license is an arduous process. In some cases, it could be years until you retain the use of your license. This is why it’s important you hire legal representation as soon as you receive notice of suspension or revocation.
If you or someone you know has had their license suspended or revoked, it’s important you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney.
Attorney for License Reinstatement in Houston, TX
Have you recently been convicted of a driving offense? Was your license suspended or revoked as a result? If so, it’s crucial you gain legal representation. You may be able to have your license reinstated with the help of a skilled criminal defense attorney.
You can speak to that attorney today with Tyler Flood & Associates, Inc.. The attorneys at Tyler Flood & Associates, Inc. are skilled in representing people with suspended or revoked licenses. We have defended clients in both criminal trials and suspension or revocation hearings. Gain not just a defense attorney, but a legal partner with Tyler Flood & Associates, Inc..
Contact Tyler Flood & Associates, Inc. by (713) 224-5529 to schedule a case consultation. Tyler Flood & Associates, Inc. represents clients throughout the greater Houston metropolitan area including Bellaire, Uptown, River Oaks and Magnolia Park.
Overview of License Reinstatement in Texas
- How Do I Get My License Reinstated in Texas?
- Traffic Offenses Requiring Suspension in Texas
- Where Do I Get My License Reinstated?
- Additional Resources
How Do I Get My License Reinstated in Texas?
DPS has the authority to suspend or revoke your license if you were convicted of a traffic offense. If your license was suspended, then you must wait until your suspension period is over to have your license reinstated. DPS will also require you to pay an administrative fee of $125 for reinstatement.
Driving while intoxicated (DWI) convictions are handled a little differently. You cannot have your license reinstated until you file and maintain proof of SR-22 vehicle insurance with DPS for two years. An SR-22 form is a certificate of motor vehicle liability insurance that shows you have sufficient insurance coverage under Texas law.
Not only this, but you’ll be required to meet certain conditions depending on your case. The court could possibly order you to complete certain programs such as DWI school or a substance and alcohol abuse program before applying for reinstatement. If you’ve finished all the terms and conditions of your sentencing, then DPS will let you reinstate your license with an addition fee of $100.
Traffic Offenses Requiring Suspension in Texas
The majority of traffic stops don’t result in a license suspension. However, if you’re committing a traffic offense you could face suspension or revocation for years depending on the crime. Some of these offenses include, but are not limited to:
- Driving While Intoxicated
- First Offense – Suspension for up to 1 year
- Second or Subsequent Offense – Suspension for up to 2 years
- DWI Refusal to Submit
- First Offense – Suspension for up to 180 days
- Second or Subsequent Offense – Suspension for up to 2 years
- DWI Failed Chemical Test
- First Offense – Suspension for up to 90 days
- Second or Subsequent Offense – Suspension for up to 1 year
- Driving with a Suspended License
- An additional suspension that’s as long as the original suspension
- Convicted of a Drug or Controlled Substance Offense
- License suspension for up to 180 days
You could also have your license suspended by the number of moving traffic violations you have. A moving traffic violation is when you break a traffic law while your vehicle is in motion. Some examples include speeding or running a stop sign. You could have your license suspended if you have:
- Four or more moving traffic violations within 12 months; or
- Seven or more moving traffic violations within 24 months
Where Do I Reinstate My License?
Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) handles all manners pertaining to licenses. You can go online and visit their site to view your license eligibility. You can then use their online services to access any compliance items needed to check your driving eligibility. The site will also allow you to pay any associated fees with your reinstatement online.
If you don’t have any fees, then you’ll submit your compliance documents to DPS. You can do this through email, fax or post mail. It’s important you convert your files to PDF format if you’re using email.
When mailing your documents, you must include a copy of your suspension notice, and driver license number on all submitted documents. It takes up to 21 business days to process your license reinstatement. You can send your information to the following:
Texas Department of Public Safety
Enforcement and Compliance Service
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, Texas 78773-0320
Email: [email protected]
Reinstating Your License -Visit the official website of Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to learn more about how to reinstate your license. Access the site to view your license eligibility, where you submit payments over the mail and other resources.
SR-22 Forms in Texas – Visit the official website of Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to learn more about SR-22 forms. Access the site to find more information on how SR-22 work, authorized insurance providers and what happens if you cancel, lapse or terminate your SR-22.
Attorney for License Reinstatement in Harris County, Texas
A suspended or revoked license can really limit your life. You may rely on your vehicle for school, work or essential household needs. Thankfully, you do have options. If you or someone you know has had their license revoked or suspended, it’s crucial you contact a skilled defense attorney.
The attorneys at Tyler Flood & Associates, Inc. are skilled in criminal defense law. Our attorneys have years of experience in suspension and criminal proceedings. We can assess your traffic conviction and license suspension to uncover any of your available legal options. Call today at (713) 224-5529 to schedule a free consultation.
Tyler Flood & Associates, Inc. represents people with suspended or revoked licenses throughout the greater Harris County area including Houston, Tomball, West University Place and Pasadena.
This article was last updated on March 7th, 2019.