If you are convicted of DWI (driving while intoxicated) in Texas, you will be required to attend a mandatory DWI class. Three different Offender Education Programs are provided by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. The type of class you may have to attend will depend on whether you are a juvenile, a first-time DWI offender, or have multiple DWIs.
Irrespective of the type of Houston DWI class you may be taking, the cost for the class will have to be borne by you. You will usually not have to pay the full fee upfront, but you will receive a certificate of completion only after you have paid the full fee. You can take classes in English or Spanish.
What You Must Bring to Your Houston DWI Class
Your Houston DWI defense attorney will guide you about the documents you are required to submit when you register for the course online or bring with you at the first meeting. The key documents include:
Your court case number
Documents from the court to show you are ordered to take the DWI class
Your Social Security number
Your state-issued ID or driver’s license
Your driver’s license could be in jeopardy if you skip any court-ordered DWI class.
DWI Class for First-time Offenders
A first DWI conviction in Texas will result in the imposition of a probation sentence along with mandatory completion of a DWI Education Program. This class is aimed at improving your knowledge of how alcohol and other intoxicating substances might affect your driving ability.
You will have an opportunity to learn how to identify your own patterns of alcohol use. This can help you be more planned and alert in the future to avoid driving after drinking. Some of the key topics included in this class are:
DWI laws in Texas and the types of penalties
How alcohol and other intoxicants impact behavior and ability to drive a vehicle
How to identify signs of alcohol dependency
The duration of the standard Houston DWI class will be 12 hours, conducted over a period of 3 to 4 days. The cost usually ranges from $90 to $125. You must complete this class within 180 days after the granting of probation.
Failure to complete the class on the schedule will result in the suspension of your driver’s license and possible revocation of your probation. The court may grant a time extension in exceptional cases. In such situations, make sure your Houston criminal defense attorney can help you obtain an extension.
DWI Class for Multiple DWI Offenders
If you have more than one DWI convictions, you will be required to take an Intervention Program designed for multiple DWI offenders. This class will cover the following topics:
Physical and psychological effects of consuming alcohol or drugs
How family members are affected by alcohol abuse
Advantages of a 12-step program
Potential treatment options
Avoiding peer pressure
Planning for the future with an aim to avoid another DWI
The primary goal of this class is to intervene in what could possibly be an alcohol-abusing lifestyle.
Defend Yourself Against a Potential DWI Conviction With a DWI Defense Lawyer
Facing a DWI conviction in Texas? Choose the DWI defense team at Flood-Lewis & Associates. From top to bottom, our team is prepared to battle back against charges of DWI.
Call our team 24/7, 365 at 713-224-5529 for a free case review or contact us online to request a free consultation with one of our attorneys.